top of page

Winding Down 2018

I spent November being thankful, and now stepping into the last month of the year, I am feeling a mixture of nostalgia and excitement.

The first half of the year went by so fast in prepping for my qualifying exam, my best friend’s wedding and the 60th anniversary of the Aga Khan (religious leader). The 2nd half of the year was spent on trying to make up for the 1st half being so busy and trying to actually be productive in lab.

But now that December has arrived, I can’t help but start thinking of resolutions. Every year I make resolutions and goals. In the last two years, however, my resolutions and goals have gone from “I want to lose 50 lbs” to “I want to love myself, I want to be confident with myself, I want to prioritize me!”

This past year however, I didn’t have much on my resolution/goal list.

  1. Pass quals

  2. Learn to love myself

  3. Make time for myself

Screen Shot 2018-12-07 at 8.49.50 AM

@ Home. Before my exam 


May 14th, 2018 was an extremely stressful but amazing day! I was dripping bullets of sweat before and during my qualifying exam, but after I got my unconditional pass… no feeling in the world could describe the validation I received for being in graduate school and pursing my dream. (The imposter syndrome took a nap for a few days!)

The other 2 resolutions were the hardest. And while #1 finished in May, I am still working on #2 and #3. Some days I am better at it than others.

Self-confidence and self-love are two things that I struggle with on a regular basis. This can be a whole post on its on… so I won’t elaborate except for the fact that, it’s been hard. Especially during qualifying exam, when self-doubt flooded my head. And of course, I didn’t lose those 50 lbs that I wanted to, so when I look at myself in the mirror, I felt disgust. Nonetheless, I recognize it as an issue and work on it daily! Some days are better than others, it’s definitely a journey and a hard one at it!

Screen Shot 2018-12-07 at 10.52.29 AM

Doing the Superman pose at home to gain some confidence! Have you heard about the superman pose? Have you tried it?


My number one friend this past year was my planner! I have the Passion Planner (and super duper highly recommend it! I’ve bought it for a friend for her bday and convinced another she needed it in her life!) I scheduled in everything. Experiments, hanging out with friends, going to prayers, working out etc. And because of this, I scheduled in time for myself.

Every week, I try to schedule in something fun or something I want to do. That may range from excessively using the MoviePass, binge watching Grey’s Anatomy and The Office for the 100th time, taking a nice hot bath and relaxing with a face mask and a glass of wine to decorating my planner (which has now become almost like a scrapbook for 2018)! I took full advantage of Groupon and finding fun things to do around Dallas as well as making time to maintain various relationships.

Nonetheless, I scheduled it in, and made sure I stuck to the schedule.

The holiday season can be extra busy and stressful. It is the end of the year, so many deadlines have to be met and time with family also needs to be planned. Especially during this time of the year, I find it hard to just sit back and do something selfish for myself. So I challenge not only myself, but you as well, make sure to prioritize yourself this holiday season. Buy yourself that make up set you’ve been wanting! Buy yourself those super soft cozy fuzzy pjs! Buy yourself that essential oil starter pack that you’ve been eyeing!!

Speaking of… I have partnered up with a new friend, Neirozin, who is a fierce BawseLady! Recently Neirozin has started using essential oils in her daily life. She uses various oils to relieve stress, boost her immune system and to rest well at night. You can use these essential oils in 3 different ways – aromatically, topically, and internally (the vitality oils). Depending on where you’re needing support depends on how you can use them. For example, if you’re needing support for healthy breathing, apply over your chest and throat, and inhale directly. If you’re needing digestive support, take the vitality oils internally to get the oils directly into the stomach and intestinal area. For skin support, apply on the desired areas. If you are interested in chemical-free lifestyles, check out her website (http://tinyrul.com/NeirozinZindani). Let’s support small business and women entrepreneurs. Have more questions about Essential Oils and how to use them? Follow @Neirozin (IG) and contact her directly! And don’t forget to check out her website!  Let’s end this year with a blast and reduced stress!!

screenshot_20181203-222154_instagram

The giveaway includes:

  1. Sample of thieves cleaner in a glass bottle. This is a non-toxic cleaner formulated with 100% plant and mineral base ingredients.

  2. Ninja Red is a nutrient drink that combines essential oils and Chinese wolf berries to help boost your immune system and soak in nutrients into your body at maximum strength.

  3. Stress Away – simply put… “vacation in a bottle.” This blend of essential oils has been created to combat normal stresses that creep over into our daily lives!

How to enter the giveaway:

  1. Like the Instagram post

  2. Follow @CellebraTez and @Neirozin

  3. Spread the holiday cheer and tag a friend!

  4. Each tag counts as an entry!

What are you going to do to make time for yourself to end 2018 on a high!

~Cell-ebraTez

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page