top of page

Your Everyday Scientist


When I run into people in social settings and the topic of my career or what I do comes up. Most people are surprised when I say “I am a scientist.” On occasion, I’ve also gotten the, “you don’t look like a scientist” comment…

So, what does a scientist look like?

Most often when you think of a scientist this is what comes to your mind…


Do I have to be male, white, old, and unkept, lack a fashion sense to be a scientist?

One of the projects I’ve been wanting to work on is making science more fashionable! Most people think that fashion and science don’t mix. Or that scientists cannot be fashionable.

To break this stereotype, I’ve been wanting to work on a fashion/science post for a while. I was finally able to make some time for it and got some great volunteers to help me with this project. This was a fun project in which I am featuring my female program-mates who wear multiple hats for me: mentors and friends. Always there to give me advice on grad school, experiments, and life!

Check out the video to see how these fashionistas are slaying as scientistas! 


They are the Real Cell-ebreTez of my everyday life… who are yours?

Meet the CellebreTez: 




~Cell-ebraTEZ

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page