top of page

Recap (Christmas, New Years & Work)

It’s been forever since I last updated my blog! I am apparently not too good at it. It is definitely something I need to get better at! So much has happened since last year!

A quick recap since my last blog!

Christmas: Fortunate for me, the holiday season was not so lonely. Thanks to the wonderful Holiday parties that were thrown by my Lab. Delicious food, great people, and biology jokes what else could I have asked for! On top of that, I received a very generous Christmas gift from my PI 😀



New Years: My cousin Nageen finally came back from spending the semester in Australia! She turned 21 on Christmas and we weren’t able to celebrate. So I went to Atlanta to spend time with her and make her 21stbirthday memorable. Ofcourse, I also had another reason to go down to Atlanta, my friend Madison, who is spending the year in Guyana teach Math with the World Teach program, was coming back to Atlanta for a few days! And lastly, I can’t forget my best friend from high school, Farzeen! It had been a while since we caught up and it seemed like the perfect time. What better timing than to spend the new years with my 3 closest girl friends, Nageen, Madison, and Farzeen!





 During the new year, I also planned to visit my parents back in NC. It was great. I got some home made food and got to spend time with them. But as exciting as the New Year started, it ended up being just as more frustrating. My flight back to StL was canceled and then my bags were lost. But I survived. Finally Delta found my bags, put them on the plane to StL and I had them after 4 days!



Work: Since I’ve come back from new years, work has been busy! I received my own project along with helping with other projects. As much as I truly enjoy doing research, these experiences are teaching me as to how frustrating it can be. One of the frustrations that I have come across is technology malfunctioning. You can’t trust your data, if you can’t trust the technology that is supposed to give you the data. As scientists, we put so much trust into our state of the art technology that a little shift in parameters or scale throws data off completely.  The question is, where would we be without technology in scientific discovery? And to a certain extent, is technology hindering us?


I shall definitely try to be better at blogging. Things at work are getting more exciting and the new city is full of new experiences and new friendships!

~ Cell-ebraTez

0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page