top of page

Off to a Great 2015!

Its has been 3 and a half months since the new year and I am not doing too great on my New Years Resolution… to blog more!

Here is a quick recap since the New Year!

January:



  1. · Busy with working in the lab

  2. · Went to my 2nd Blues game (they were playing the Edmonton Oilers)

  3. · Went to my 1st Paint night!

  4. · Saw my 2nd Cirque de Soleil Show, Varekai. 

  5. · Work, work, work!





@ PaintNite. Added my own twist by making one of the birds a peacock!

@ Scott Trade for STL Blues Game Against Edmonton Oilers. Ofcourse STL Blues WON!! 



February:


  1. · BEST MONTH OF THE YEAR!

  2. · I celebrated my 25th Birthday!! Went home to visit my Parents and Sister. My mom planned an AMAZING surprise by asking my Best Friend, Madison and Favorite Cousin, Nageen, to come up to North Carolina to celebrate with me!! It was a great Pre-Birthday Weekend!

  3. · The 14th of February (actual day of my Birthday) fell on the same day as Mardi Gras! My friend, Stephanie, and I spent the morning in Downtown STL, collecting beads!! Later that day, I was joined with friends and coworkers for a delicious Mexican Dinner!


Stephanie and I @ the Mardi Gras Parade! We were super busy collecting the beads!! 

HAPPY 25TH BDAY TO ME!! 

Selfies with the best girls ever!!! 

The only women in my Dad’s life!! Of course I am the most Important one!! 

Dinner after the parade!! 





March:

  1. · On the 7th, I was invited to be my Boss’, Clarissa, Plus 1 to a super fancy Gala hosted by the Marfan’s Syndrome. My Boss is affiliated with the Mecham lab and Dr. Mecham was receiving a very distinguished award from The Marfan’s Foundation. Lucky for us, he invited lab to celebrate with him! This was a great experience! Seeing everyone from the lab outside of lab. Can I just say that scientists sure do now how to clean up!!! For all of you who think scientists are not sexy? Think again!! The night was filled with great company, delicious food, and dancing!! (http://www.marfan.org/event/heartworks-gala-stlouis/distinguished-research-stlouis )

  2. · This month I also attended a panel called, “Gender Balanced: Female Founders of Start Ups.” Ofcourse as a graduate of an All-Women’s College, I was automatically drawn to the seminar but also wanted to learn of opportunities in science outside of academia. The stories were fantastic and the women were amazing. I only wish they could come and talk to Agnes Scott College and encourage more young scientists to pursue science! One thing I learned was the importance of being aware of regulations! Sometimes scientists don’t realize the legal aspect or the business aspect of things and vice versa, it is so important to have a background in all or at least work with people you trust to have your best interest.

  3. · Another publication under my belt!! I worked on this project back at Agnes Scott!

  4. · 3rd Blues game of the Season with Stephanie!



Mecham Lab Ladies. L–>R: Vivian (Grad Student), ME, Dr. Clarissa Craft PhD (my Boss), Terese Hall (Secretary), Dr. Dr. Harmen Halabi MD, PhD. 

Isiahah Austin. Diagnosed with Marfan’s Syndrome the day before NBA Draft. Doing some great awareness work with the foundation! 

Dr. Robert Mecham PhD accepting his award!

3rd Blues Game!! 

The year thus far has been quiet exciting!

Things to look forward to in the near future!!

  1. · Mini-vacation to Washington D.C for the Japanese Cherry Blossom Festival and to visit my College friends, Heather and Cecilia!

  2. · Studying to take the GRE! :-O

  3. · Another Mini-vacation to Atlanta!! Nageen is graduating from Emory’s Business School!! So going down for the weekend to celebrate with her!! Looking forward to being back in Atl after almost a year and half!

  4. · Wrapping up some experiments and hoping to get writing!

  5. · And of course continuing to explore STL as much as I can!!!

Keep a look out for an all new Scientific Sunday Series! Every Sunday, I am hoping to write about something interesting that may have happend in science, so just give a quick update on my progress!! 


  ~Cell-ebraTez


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page