top of page

Navroz Mubarak

In one of my introductory posts, I had mentioned that I am a proud young, female Ismaili Scientist. And the primary reason for blogging was to share with the world my experiences in a new city and share a glimpse of what’s hot in science now. However, I realize, I have not shared anything about my faith… 

I thought today would be a good day to give a brief glimpse of a celebration I observe as being part of the Shia Ismaili Community.

Navroz:

Today, March 21st, Ismaili Muslims all over the world celebrate Navroz. Navroz literally means “new year” and marks the beginning of a new year and the first day of spring. It is a time for spiritual renewal, physical rejuvenation and a positive outlook. Navroz is celebrated in in many countries such as Iran, Iraq, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Central and South Asia. Most of these countries observe Navroz as a public holiday.

Ismailis celebrate Navroz by the recitation of devotional poetry in the forms of ginans, qasidas and manqabas. Dried fruits, nuts and grains are passed in the community to symbolize abundance and sustenance. It is a time for the community to come together and celebrate all that there is for a new beginning.

(This information was gotten from The Ismaili website: www.theismaili.org. Please feel free to visit this website to learn more about my beautiful faith.)

Also, Feel free to ask me any questions you may have regarding Navroz, being Ismaili, or anything else!


Navroz Mubarak!

(Happy New Year)


~Cell-ebraTez

0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page