top of page

First Exam In Grad School

It’s almost been a month in grad school, and I am already questioning myself whether I can surive! The workload is crazy! I now know why everyone kept warning me about what I was getting myself into! Lectures everyday for 3 hours, reading papers, working on problem sets (and they never end) and lastly doing rotations to find a lab to join. And of course, you have to read papers for the rotation to be prepared to answer questions and ask smart questions. When people say there is no such thing as a stupid question, let me tell you, there are such things as stupid questions!

What is the best way to study for your first exam?

  1. For me, personally, I found the tutoring sessions very helpful! It has been 4 years since I have been in a “formal” classroom setting and I found these sessions extremely helpful for talking through concepts and problems with fellow students instead of Professors.

  2. Out of class study groups. I kind of forced myself to join a study group and by far one of the best things I could do! It helps you make friends in grad school but also helps you study! Of course, we are not productive 100% of the time but when we are productive it’s helpful!

  3. Make summary sheets of the different professors and what they emphasized on! One page summary sheets to quickly glance at and get the gist of the lecture. This could include important concepts, formulas and their relationships

  4. Keep yourself organized! I have been getting so many packets of slides and notes and at the end of the day; all that paper work is overwhelming! With an open-note exam, what is the best way to organize yourself and find the information in a timely manner? Figure out what works best for you!


  1. Try to give yourself time to relax! After being in school for 14-15 hours a day, you burn yourself out physically and mentally! I have found that once I get home, I will usually cook lunch and dinner for the next day and watch a 30-min episode of something on TV or online. 

The best thing about grad school so far?


  1. I love learning new things everyday. Even if they are not something I am interested in.

  2. I love being in such an intellectually engaging environment

  3. I love the conversations I have with my fellow students on topic and off topic

Would I apply again for grad school after my first month?

Hell YES!!

Wish me luck on my first exam tomorrow!!!

~Cell-ebraTez

2 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page