top of page

Exploring DFW With My BFF



I moved to Dallas 2 yrs ago. Unfortunately, I have not had a chance to explore the city as much as I would have liked. It still feels like a foreign city to me and hasn’t felt like home just yet. But what better way to explore Dallas than my best friend coming to visit me the same weekend as National Best Friend day!



Thursday:

Our first stop is In-N-Out! It is a California Fav and I must say, I am so lucky that there is one here. Although I think I only get some when I have family or friends in town.

Next stop, one of my favorite places in Dallas, Cake Bar in Trinity Groves. I am a sucker for dessert and especially a sucker for good cake. My first time at the Cake Bar was when I came to interview for UTSW and I fell in love. My favorites are the red velvet, german chocolate and the Italian crème! Can’t go wrong with those flavors!

Friday:

Unfortunately I had to work, but luckily, my schedule can be pretty flexible. I worked for half the day, finished everything I needed to get done for the day and went to lunch.


A Dallas must: Velvet Taco! All their food is amazing. Their sides are the best! I think Stephanie and I wanted to go there just to eat their sides and dessert!

Took a break between eating by giving Stephanie a tour of my lab and once again finishing up some experiments for the day.

Then we headed straight to Carrollton to indulge in some Korean desserts!


First stop: Snowy Village. Snowy Village sells bing su (shaved ice) with various toppings. The ice feels almost like shaved frozen milk. It is sweet and very refreshing!

Then we took a walk around that plaza and explored some of the shops.


Before driving back home to get ready for the night, we stopped at Kung Fu Tea to get some bubble tea! If you haven’t already tried, the mini- bobas are the best! For the evening, I had won tickets to the Hyena Comedy Club at Mockingbird Station Featuring Lisa Landry.

For a night cap, we headed to a local bar, The People’s Last Stand Bar + Bistro. Their mango tequila cocktail is a must try!

Saturday:

One of our favorite things to do in St. Louis was to go explore the St. Louis Zoo (which is free!! And 1.5 miles away from our apartments). However, coming to Dallas and everything being so far, I haven’t had a chance to explore the zoo! Fortunately, UTSW has discounted tickets for the Fort Worth Zoo.

The Zoo was amazing. Took us a few hours to walk around and see everything. The zoo has a white tiger which is one of my favorite animals. The other exhibits that were a must see: the African Savannah, the Primates and the Kangaroos.


After overheating at the zoo, we decided to go to Muggle Shakes to cool off. The name sounds like it has some Harry Potter themed shakes. However, to our disappointment, nothing is Harry Potter related. However, the shakes are good and very unique. If I am in the area, I would most definitely stop by again!

Finally, to wrap up our Fort Worth Day, our last stop was the Water Gardens.


For dinner, we decided to go to Kitchen Fusion in Plano. They have both Korean BBQ and Hot Pot along with several other options! And to top off the night, I wanted some more bubble tea!


Sunday:



Unfortunately, Stephanie was leaving so we slept in and recovered from the busy day the day before. But before we headed to the airport, we had to stop for a honey butter chicken biscuit at Whattaburger!

Overall, it was an amazing weekend and I hope I get to explore more places in Dallas! Always looking for new recommendations of places to go, things to do and of course, things to eat in the DFW area!!

~ Cell-ebraTez

1 view0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page