top of page

A Year to be Thankful For

2015 has been a busy year! I just realized the last time I wrote anything was back in July! Time for an update in Cell-ebraTez’s life!

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone! Every year this time I like to reflect on the things I am grateful for. Usually we all make a list from A-Z that we are thankful for; this year, I would like to make a list of January to November.

January:

I tackled 2015 right from the beginning. The year started with a lot of fun events: my first Paint Nite, 2nd Cirque de Soleil show (Verakai), more Ice Hockey games (go Blues!), and outdoor ice skating for the first time in many years.


February:

The best month of the year! I turned 25!! Went home to celebrate turning a quarter century old, was surprised by my best friend from college and best cousin ever, Madison and Nageen, went to my 1st Mardi Gras celebration, and booked my very first vacation as an adult!




March:

Invited to The Marfan Foundation 2015 Gala where one of my supervisors was awarded a “Lifetime Achievement Award” for his contributions in the understanding of Marfan’s Syndrome. This event was so inspiring and I felt so much pride for having been given the opportunity to work with someone so amazing!



April:

Ready for my vacation to Washington DC to attend the Japanese Cherry Blossom Festival with my dear friends Heather and Cecilia! Also did my first 5K run with Stephanie! It was so much fun!!


May:

Had a work ditch day with my boss and went to go see the Divergent movie that came out this year! Our official Lab Meeting spot= AMC Dine In! Attended my favorite cousins graduation from Emory University! It was so great to be in Atlanta after so long!! Was able to reconnect with friends, family and professors!!


June:

My year finally started to calm down. June was perfect, started to enjoy the summer months, resumed our Walking Club and Saturday morning Yogas at Tower Grove Park!

July:

Nageen came to visit me in STL FINALLY!! We started the weekend off with Magic Mike XXL, toured around STL, attended July 4th festivities at Forest Park and enjoyed delicious Watermelon Margaritas by the poolside! Later this month, Stephanie and I took our first road trip to Kansas City!



August:

My parents and little sister came to visit! The weekend started with a STL Cardinals game at Busch Stadium then exploring STL, enjoying some STL BBQ and cuisine. I also saw Kelly Clarkson, my favorite artist, at a concert along with my FAVORITE a capella group, Pentatonix! Both, Kelly Clarkson and Pentatonix, were AMAZING!!! While the Parents were still here, we took a mini vacation to Chicago! Had an amazing time exploring the city!


September:

Our lab had a foreign exchange graduate student come to learn techniques from Madrid, Spain. Most of September-October was spent getting to know Alex and showing him around! A LOT of eating happened during this month! Also, attended my first Music Festival!

October:

One of the benefits of having a friend that works for Purina, is that I get to enjoy her benefits sometimes too! Purina held a family day for their employees at 6 flags, and Stephanie invited her one and only BFF, ME!! The first day of fright fest! It was GREAT!! Mid-October, my best friends from College came to visit: Nadi and Heather!! It was the best time ever! Being able to reconnect and remember all our fun memories! Also went to Hermann, MO for their Octoberfest, which was mostly a wine tasting event (highly recommend it)!


November:

November has been so eventful!! Went on vacation to Orlando, Fl, to visit HARRY POTTER WORLD at Universal Studios! Harry Potter World was AMAZING. Words cannot describe the fun we had! Our Resort, Cabana Bay Beach Resort was AMAZING!!  Our last day at the resort, before coming back home, we spent lounging around the poolside area, especially in the lazy river! Lazy River + Pina Coladas = Heaven!! After HP World, I decided to surprise my parents and little sister by going home for my sisters 12thbirthday! So much adventure during this month




Which finally brings us to Thanksgiving. This year has thankfully been so adventurous from making new friends, to reconnecting with old ones, and best of all traveling! There is so much for me to be thankful for!

Lastly, before I end my note for today, I want to ask everyone who is celebrating Thanksgiving today to take a moment and not only be thankful for what you have as an individual but also take a moment to remember that you are very lucky and that there are so many people around the world who are less fortunate. With the hatred that is going around the world, be thankful for your lives yet pray for those that have been lost. Take this Thanksgiving to reflect on the world around you, how/what can you do to make a difference?!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

~Cell-ebraTez

0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page